Checking In

I appreciate the number of people who have asked me to continue blogging! I want to emphatically state that I have no intention of stopping; a short gap has turned out to be longer than I expected.

Frankly there are a number of topics that I think need addressing: federal budgets, asteroid missions, big rockets vs. propellant depots, the difficulties of long term projects with our government processes, and much more. I really feel the urge to explore what a friend of mine calls “the value proposition” for space exploration although from a different perspective than hers.

But events have conspired against me in the last two months: new grandbabies to play with (I’ve got pictures!), too much work (hey, I’m supposed to be at least semi-retired), speaking engagements, travel, and stuff. You know stuff: fixing the fence, working off the repair list, taking care of things that need taking care of.

The most significant delay has been caused by lack of inspiration: most of the time my blog posts just pour forth in a rush. That hasn’t happened to me lately. But I can feel it coming on. Soon.

So check back here soon. There are too many topics that need addressing; too many old stories to tell to stop now.

And thanks for all the kind comments

About waynehale

Wayne Hale is retired from NASA after 32 years. In his career he was the Space Shuttle Program Manager or Deputy for 5 years, a Space Shuttle Flight Director for 40 missions, and is currently a consultant and full time grandpa. He is available for speaking engagements through Special Aerospace Services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Checking In

  1. Roger says:

    Its good to see you back. I am looking forward to more from you.on the subject of Deep Space flight, manned and un-manned. I also wonder how long the ISS can last. How long will the seals survive in space. There are so many questions and so far precious few answers.
    Good luck with the Grand Kids.

    Roger

  2. Given the lack of human spaceflight leadership at the national level, your voice is essential right now. But you sure have your priorities straight — as a “Poppy” myself, enjoy those grandbabies! And then get back to work — on here!

  3. Dave™ says:

    Funny, I was just thinking that I must have taken myself off your distribution somehow. We’ve missed you and look forward once again to your insights!

  4. jim_carson says:

    Yes, as Roger said, looking forward to reading more from you. (I’m a bit of a late-comer, found the link from John Chawner’s blog, but have been enjoying the perspective.) Enjoy your grandkids!

  5. Lucky says:

    We greatly appreciate your blog posts. Though I suspect most of us are hoping you will author a book…

  6. Andrew W says:

    Federal budgets, asteroid missions, big rockets vs. propellant depots, the difficulties of long term projects with our government processes…

    Plenty of interesting stuff there, so I’m looking forward to it :-)

  7. Tom says:

    Still being actively in business, I have seen too many wheels re-invented and too many hard and painful lessons re-learned. As you pointing out being retired, I very much appreciate your writing and hope to learn from your past for not repeating the same mistakes in future. Thank you for sharing!

  8. Tim Gagnon says:

    Wayne – Your blog is always worth waiting for. First and foremost enjoy the grandchildren! Then maybe you can hire someone to fix the fence and the other items on your “to do” list. So when inspiration comes, you’re ready. I also hope you write a book.

  9. Beth Webber says:

    Wayne, It is great to have you back! You poured so much of yourself into the Columbia posts that I just figured you needed a break. There is still much to discuss, and your thoughts on space exploration resonate with so many of us. Blog On!

  10. lukeandrew says:

    There are so few blogs worth the time it takes to read. In my opinion, this is by far one of the best and most insightful blogs on the web. When you have a few minutes, please keep up the good work.

  11. aaron says:

    I had the privelage of attending one of your presentations last month. While I enjoy the blog, it was really cool to put a face with the name/ideas. I think both speaking and writing are important and I hope you never tire of either.

  12. Charley S McCue says:

    Thanks for the update!

    If it isn’t asking too much, could you add anything you might know about NERVA?

Leave a Reply

