Amazing Response!

I am overwhelmed and gratified by the response to my first blog post.  Thank you all for all the thoughtful and constructive comments.  The dialog has exceeded my expectations by quite a lot.  I also appreciate that my blog was noted or reproduced on several other websites and the conversation is flourishing in various places.  Quite amazing.

Just a couple of notes from this overwhelming response.

First of all, my time to participate online is still somewhat limited and the reading and moderation of comments here and other places has completely taken up my time to write up my next blog post.  I have a good idea in mind and am anxious to get it out there, but simply haven’t had the time.

Second, I have had personal emails from several folks that I wish would join in the public discussion.  I’m in a quandary about how much to publish from these otherwise private emails.  I welcome your email as well as your comments here but really wish that you would join us in the public discussion rather than sending it to me privately.  Always happy to get your emails, however.

Third, since this is my personal blog site – I no longer speak for the agency or anybody else – I reserve the right to moderate the comments as I see fit.  Several folks have asked why their comments haven’t been posted; here are several reasons:  (1) I simply haven’t gotten to it (time is limited), (2) I refuse to accept a comment that is longer than the original post (silly, but its my rule), (3) several folks provided comments that were basically an argument for a particular architecture – while that is interesting and perhaps important, it is not germane to the topic I started. So the rule is, stay on topic, and (4) sorry to report but some people crossed the line into the not-quite-civil side of the discussion and this I will not tolerate.

So I feel very much blessed by your attention and your considered comments, and I will allow more time in my schedule in the future to deal with all of them.

Together, I am certain that we will get to the stars!

About waynehale

Wayne Hale is retired from NASA after 32 years. In his career he was the Space Shuttle Program Manager or Deputy for 5 years, a Space Shuttle Flight Director for 40 missions, and is currently a consultant and full time grandpa. He is available for speaking engagements through Special Aerospace Services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Amazing Response!

  1. Graham says:

    Well, once I saw you posting on nasawatch I was waiting for you to set up your own blog. I’m glad it’s happened and look forward to at least as many interesting and insightful posts (and discussions in the comments) as happened on your old NASA blog.

    It’s always educational for me as someone who doesn’t make their living in spaceflight.

  2. Chris Pino says:

    Wayne

    Good rules great blog. Thanks for your time.

    -Chris

  3. Wayne,
    I should implement your Rule #2 on my blog…I get a lot of comments from people who really need to get their own blog. 🙂

    One other (probably obvious) suggestion–don’t get bogged down in dealing with comments! I’ve let too many good posts die from neglect because I was arguing with someone in comments on an older post (usually about something barely related to the original post).

    Looking forward to hearing more of your insight. Thanks for doing this!

    ~Jon

  4. Gene Mikulka says:

    Dear Wayne,

    Happily discovered though the NASASpaceflight web site that you were back! Honestly missed your insights and voice in the space discourse out here.

    Indeed rules to live by, as described above!

    Looking forward to reading your posts and discussing our future in space with you.

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts once more.

    – Gene

  5. Lucie says:

    Welcome (back?) I’m so happy you are continuing to blog. You are such an inspiration.

  6. Wayne – these rules are more than fair and I look forward to the conversation. Now I need to comment of your first post.

    Thanks again,

    Aaron

  7. RocketScienceMom says:

    Thanks so much, Wayne, for continuing to blog and to care about the Space Program.🙂 We were lucky to have someone like you in a position of authority, and we are less because of your retirement. Best of luck from now on forward.

  8. Sorry Wayne, you have the gift and curse of having been involved in what is, for a lot of us, a fascinating environment and you can write extremely well so you’ll have to get used to the volume of comments!🙂

  9. brihath2711 says:

    Way to go Wayne. I like your rules. I posted on your NASA blog. I am looking forward to reading more of your words of wisdom in this forum. Welcome to the blogosphere!

  10. Dean Gerken says:

    Wayne,
    Like the rules. I am sure in your career you have learned to stay on track (and we have seen you execute this during press briefings during return to flight missions). Your insight is definately Highly Desired.

    v/r,
    Dean

  11. Jim Hillhouse says:

    Wayne,

    Like the blog, I think your rules are spot on. I also have the comment length < post length rule.

    Hope you soon have more time to write.

  12. Pat Ryan says:

    Wayne,

    I’m excited to have discovered your new outlet here, and I’m eager to read more. Thank you for not retiring to obscurity!

    -Pat

  13. John Bare says:

    Dear Wayne,

    Glad to have you back blogging, I always find your blogs to be factual, informative, and just plain fun to read so looking forward to more. I too found out about your new blog at the NasaSpaceFlight web site where I hang out to ponder all things spacey.

    Welcome Back Wayne!

  14. Ronald Smith says:

    When you have the chance, could you talk about the reauthorization bills that have gone through both Houses? I am curious as to how they compare in funding compared to shuttle in the early days (ie late 1970’s to the beginning of the program) Hopefully that is not too of topic

  15. Sirius says:

    …wow Flight…
    Regards,
    Flight

  16. David C says:

    Hi Wayne, welcome to the Blogsphere😉 I would make one rule a Prime Directive!!

    Do NOT, under any circumstances, allow the Internet, Blog, Social Network, take away from your primary role as Grampa;

    you may think I am joking, but having been around these beasts for nie on 23 years (5 years retired) it is all too easy to end up being their servant, vs them being ours;

    Cheers, and happy retirement,

    aka Cro-magnon Gramps

  17. Meg says:

    From what I’ve read so far, your blog is interesting and I hope you will continue to write more about your aerospace work experiences.

  18. JohnFornaro says:

    Great to see your site.

    Hope you like discussing Foam!

  19. Cecil says:

    Another suggested rule:

    If you wouldn’t let your kindergartener do it, it’s not allowed.

    i.e., No pushing. No throwing. No name-calling. No throwing food. No poop jokes.

    Wouldn’t political discourse in general be better if we followed this one simple rule?

    Cue the denunciations of me from left and right, and the posts on both sides saying “Yeah, he’s right! The other side needs to do that, because people on my side would never do something like that! Everyone knows the other side are disingenuous traitors who associate with (insert enemy here)!”

Leave a Reply

